Let the Adventure Begin!

I’ve heard so many students complain, “There’s nothing to do in Rexburg. It’s just this little Mormon town in the middle of nowhere. All there is out here are potato fields.” I beg to differ. There are actually tons of things to do and see near Rexburg; you just have to get outside and do a little exploring.

I am an outdoor enthusiast and have found that spending my time enjoying the mountains, trees, campsites, rivers, lakes, waterfalls, caves, hot springs, etc is so much more rewarding than the typical Rexburg hang out or party. You might think, “We have all those things in Rexburg?”

These are the “hidden treasures” of this small, country town and its surrounding area. As much as I enjoy knowing about these beautiful places that so many people aren’t even aware exist, I want more people to see how awesome South East Idaho actually is. I feel blessed to be surrounded by so much beauty here, but so many completely miss it.

Now, I’m not just talking about places like “R” Mountain or Rigby Lake. Those are fun places, but I want more than that.

I’m talking about places like Gold Bug Hot Springs, where you hike a couple miles through valleys and hills to get to a majestic series of completely natural hot springs, connected by waterfalls. This water is warmer than my shower. I can take a hot shower in these falls while overlooking a beautiful valley. There’s nothing like it.

Gold Bug

I’m talking about places like Packsaddle Lake, a uniquely turquoise lake in the middle of a thick forest of evergreen trees. Just before hiking down to the lake, there’s a perfect view of the Teton Mountains. After the short hike, when you reach the lake there’s a rope swing for those brave enough to swing into the cold, Idaho water.

Packsaddle Lake

This is my passion.

Discovering the outdoors gives me a sense of peace and serenity along with the excitement of the adventure. This semester I want to share my journey in becoming more of an expert in the outdoor adventures available to BYU-Idaho students.  There are so many places I haven’t been to yet, or it’s been way too long. Springtime is a beautiful time of year in Idaho, so there couldn’t be a more perfect time to start exploring.

Leave a comment