Escape to Adventure

I was in the temple this evening and this sweet old lady leaned over and said to me, “You must have enjoyed some sun today. You’re cheeks are a cute, rosy red.” Of course on a beautiful sunny day like today, someone having red cheeks must have been playing outside and enjoying the sunshine. Little did she know, I had been inside all day long NOT enjoying the sunshine like I would have liked to.

I have dreams of playing in the sun, going for hikes, exploring, and having adventures. Sometimes I catch myself daydreaming as I sit in class and in the library doing my best to stay on top of the load of school work that keeps piling higher and higher.

How does a person who lives for adventure survive in a world where there is so much to do that can’t really be done without being quarantined to the indoors?

When life gets crazy busy, it’s just inevitable that some things get pushed to the side and ignored. Sometimes it’s a social life that gets put on hold. Sometimes it’s keeping a clean bedroom. Sadly, sometimes it’s prayer and studying the scriptures. Usually the first thing to go is flossing my teeth. Gross. I know. I need to work on that.

Schoolwork is a must. Exercise is a must. Feeding myself spiritually is a must. Taking time to make healthy meals is a must.

So how can I do all this and feed my hunger for enjoying the outdoors? I like to think that adventure is a must as well, but it seems to get left behind in the busiest times. I must find a solution. I must find a balance. In my perfect world, I would just be able to pause time when it’s sunny out and just go out and enjoy it.

Good news. I think I’ve found a middle ground. I must exercise, so why not do it in a beautiful serene place where I can soak in the nature that surrounds me and feel a sense of adventure? Why not find a place where I can be productive and enjoy nature and sunshine without getting too off track from what I need to accomplish.

I’ve found it. I’ve found my place I can go to during the week. It doesn’t take me too far away from my studies, but it’s just the right amount of “away”. This place is golden! It is definitely one of the hidden treasures of Rexburg. It’s right here in town, but when I go there I feel like I’ve traveled miles down a long, windy, mountain road to get to this beautiful, forested retreat.

I’m surrounded by tall grass that catches the wind and sunlight just perfectly to create a sea of bright green waves all around me. The sound of Snake River running right along side me puts me into kind of a meditative mode.

So, what is this beautiful, serene place? It’s called Eagle Park and is just right past Nature Park in Rexburg off of N 5th W. The first time I went to this place, it just looked like a typical park with a grass field and an overhang with picnic benches, but I later found out there is a campground behind it. I went back to this park and continued to drive down the dirt road past the grass field and found this beautiful place that is now my go to for retreat and adventure when life tries to strangle me and keep me indoors.

Image

Here’s a small glimpse of it!

 

Leave a comment